Friday, 07.03.2015

Thoughts on the future: my mind is still spinning in a million different directions when people ask me about my career goals. I know I want a gallery that focuses on contemporary art. I also know that I want to provide other services as well. Some of my options include framing, art repair, and book repair. I hope to find an apprenticeship with a frame shop when I return to Daytona because the best way to learn is hands on. The bookbinding and repair will be the focus of my degree, but I’m unsure about where I can learn art repair. I know some schools offer it as a degree, but I’m lacking confidence in the chemistry of it all. I wonder if there is a loophole to going to school for such a thing. Another concern on my mind is the business aspect of running a gallery. I know I should theoretically get a degree in art management, entrepreneurship, or business management, but I do not wish to abandon my path toward a fine art degree. I wonder if it is completely necessary to get a business degree or if I can just jump right in and learn from experience. These are some questions I am stowing on the shelf in my mind to ask Robin and other future mentors I may have. Another idea I had is offering an open studio for artist. This could include classes as well, but I’ve always had trouble finding a place where I can just go in and work on my own without having to take a class. This big art megaplex is building up in my mind and forcing me to fall head over heals. How will it escape the walls of my cranium and come to life in the real world? Where does one begin?

Patricia Singer, Intern. 

About 4artincgallery

Owner/Director/Artist, 4Art Inc Gallery since 2003. Now located on the 4th floor of the Zhou B Art Center 1029 West 35th Street, Chicago. 4Art is open to the public Tuesday - Saturday from 11-5, call for appointment 773-254-5100 / rrios@4artinc.com / www.4artinc.com
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

