Thursday, 07.02.2015

My second First Friday has already come and gone. Time is swiftly passing as I hit the halfway point on my internship timeline. I felt much more established this time around. Last month I felt too pushy and eager to talk to every single person. This month I still kindly introduced myself to the guests as they walked through the door, but I noticed that people came to me if they really needed me. I had more people coming up to me asking questions, and definitely way more people coming up to me to just chat.IMG_9863

A couple of the artist complimented me on the show. On the other hand I was told that some guests found it confusing when the work of one artist was broken up throughout the gallery rather than grouping each artist in their own section. Whether is was compliment or criticism I found all the comments to be helpful and constructive. The diversity in comments combined with the diversity in hanging styles I have observed are teaching me that there is no ”correct” way to hang a show. You just have to find what works best in that particular gallery. In my own gallery I would definitely keep the works of artists grouped together, while still paying attention to the flow of art in content and color. The physical hanging of the show took me hours. I’m excited to see how much I can cut my time next month. I’ve noticed other galleries that may be larger or connected to a larger institution take months to set up an exhibit. I can definitely appreciate the speedy nature of small gallery exhibits. I have not worked in a museum setting but the pace and atmosphere of galleries still win my heart.

IMG_9861 IMG_9862

Patricia Singer, Intern.

About 4artincgallery

Owner/Director/Artist, 4Art Inc Gallery since 2003. Now located on the 4th floor of the Zhou B Art Center 1029 West 35th Street, Chicago. 4Art is open to the public Tuesday - Saturday from 11-5, call for appointment 773-254-5100 / rrios@4artinc.com / www.4artinc.com
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

