Sunday, 06.14.2015

Life has truly been getting in the way of my gallery scavenger hunt. I finally had a chance to check out a couple of openings the other night, but I was graciously let down. Two art centers advertised openings, one seemed to be between shows, and the other only offered maybe two open galleries filled with middle aged men throwing back beer and Cheetos. I have been to a couple of amazing galleries during my search, but none have offered the colorful life of the Third Friday I experienced at the Zhou B.

Third Friday is  finally approaching again. Robin and I finished the show yesterday. She did all the curating, and I did most of the hanging. It took me just about forever, but I know I’ll get faster at it. This profession I have decided to partake in relies on my ability to trust my eyes. Not only for my art, but also for curating and even hanging. This week I fumbled around with my measuring tape and had to rehang a couple of pieces here and there, but you have to start somewhere I guess. Maybe by my last Third Friday I’ll have trimmed my hanging time from two days to two hours.

Once everything was straightened and stuck down, I felt accomplished. I didn’t get to help with the actual curating of the show, but I still felt great about it. I’m beginning to see the flow of things. I’m beginning to see how colors and content of different pieces drag the eye from one side of the room to the other. I’m starting to see patterns in the layout of art in 4Art and other galleries as well.

The next time I go to 4Art will be Third Friday. I’m excited to meet the artist again and to chat with the guests. If you are reading this from the Chicago area, be sure to come see all our hard work!

IMG_9542 IMG_9553

Patricia Singer, Intern. 

About 4artincgallery

Owner/Director/Artist, 4Art Inc Gallery since 2003. Now located on the 4th floor of the Zhou B Art Center 1029 West 35th Street, Chicago. 4Art is open to the public Tuesday - Saturday from 11-5, call for appointment 773-254-5100 / rrios@4artinc.com / www.4artinc.com
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

