3rd Friday, 05.15.15

1029 W 35th Street, formally known as the Zhou B Art Center, introduced itself to me as a quiet place upon my arrival, although I was told 3rd Friday is a pretty big deal at the Zhou B. I believed it, but I couldn’t have imagined the life that would fill the building that night. Like blood rushing through excited veins, people filled the halls and brought the building to life. The building seemed to expand with all the gallery doors open. There was plenty of wine to be drunk and plenty of food to be eaten. Musicians roamed the halls carrying their violins and upright basses. They stopped in the galleries to fill the room with melody. One gallery even had a DJ. Whether the people were there for the party or for the art, there was something to do and see in every room.

My job for the evening was to walk around the gallery, greet people as they walked in, and encourage conversation between the guests and the artists. The night started off slow due to a performance on the ground floor. It gave me a chance to talk to the artists and put their faces to their work. All the artists were ecstatic about meeting me. Some were bold and gregarious others were reserved wallflowers. Whatever persona they took on, they were glad to meet me and give their insight. Some artists gave me Museum suggestions such as the Smart Museum & The Beverly Arts Center. Others told me who to meet if I want to make it in the art world. Most just wanted to chat about art.

When I tell people that I want to be a gallery owner someday they usually pull their mouth to the side and pull in their eyebrows. “Good luck,” they say. I guess a little bit of luck is needed, hell luck is needed no matter what you want to do. I once read somewhere that opportunity is the perfect meeting of luck and timing. Although, I don’t believe I’ll need all that much of it. I know it takes blood, sweat, and tears. It’ll take loans and debt and late nights followed by early mornings, but I think I’ll make it. I know that no one gives a damn about a college degree in the world of art, so my main goal while I am in the big city is to network. I took as many business cards as I could and tried to remember names and faces. Almost everyone I told my career goals to said that I could call them for help. So far so good. I was even asked to help an artist with their next upcoming show. Not bad for my first night. I was so enthused to be apart of such a great event that my cheeks were genuinely sore by the end of the night. I didn’t realize how tired I was until I got home. I left around 10:15 pm, and the building was still booming with people and music. I thought about staying and mingling more, but I was anxious about waking up the next day and returning to 4Art Inc.

IMG_9063 IMG_9064

Patricia Singer, Intern. 

About 4artincgallery

Owner/Director/Artist, 4Art Inc Gallery since 2003. Now located on the 4th floor of the Zhou B Art Center 1029 West 35th Street, Chicago. 4Art is open to the public Tuesday - Saturday from 11-5, call for appointment 773-254-5100 / rrios@4artinc.com / www.4artinc.com
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

