June’s Third Friday

For this summer I wanted to be a part of the art community that was bigger than just the art department at my university. When I began looking for internships I came across 4Art Inc. Gallery and read the website. I found this gallery and Robin to be different because of the testimonials of the previous interns and her written statement to want to share her knowledge. The Zhou B. Art Center is an amazing building with such creative talent and 4Art is no exception. On first coming to the gallery I was in ah when no one was around. However the 3rd Friday open event gave me a new experience that I truly enjoyed. The Zhou B. Art Center lit up and opened its doors to potential customers and enthusiasts to see amazing art and learn more from the artists themselves.

Naturally, starting out I timid to say the least but then I realized that the purpose of the open hours was for conversation and the exchanging of ideas and experiences. I applied for this internship with this purpose in mind. Throughout the night, the artists that were showcased in the 4Art gallery space were very polite and easygoing. The wide spectrum of conversations between the artists and I went from suburban life to discovering your wants from being an artist. I had been given invaluable advice that I know will serve me well going into my senior year of school. The process is just as interesting as the finished product if not more, and learning that these established artists changed their minds so much or how they got their inspirations was so intriguing. I’m truly thankful to have such an opportunity to intern for an artist of Robin’s caliber and meet other amazing and down-to-earth people.

Myia Brown, Intern 

About 4artincgallery

Owner/Director/Artist, 4Art Inc Gallery since 2003. Now located on the 4th floor of the Zhou B Art Center 1029 West 35th Street, Chicago. 4Art is open to the public Tuesday - Saturday from 11-5, call for appointment 773-254-5100 / rrios@4artinc.com / www.4artinc.com
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

